Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad

Courtesy: Austin Peay Sports Information

The Joy Award – which was replaced by the Legends Award – was the highest individual honor the Austin Peay athletics department awarded. The award was presented to male and female student-athlete determined to be the department's "Most Valuable Senior Athlete," recognizing a student-athlete's contributions throughout their career.

The award was originated in 1947 by the late Wilson Goodrich, then owner of Joy’s Jewelers. From 1947-96, one APSU senior athlete was honored each year. However, beginning in 1997 a male and female senior athlete, respectively, was honored by Joy’s and that continued through 2008. However, Joy’s Jewelers closed and ended sponsorship of the award following the 2007-08 season.

A permanent plaque display with recipients names is located in the Governors Club Room in the Dunn Center.

The first Joy Award recipient in 1947 was Dr. George Fisher, who also is a member of both the Austin Peay and Ohio Valley Conference Halls of Fame.

 The Joy Award (from 1946-08, listed by year awarded)
Season Recipient
1946-47 George Fisher  
1947-48 Tom Lincoln   
1948-49 Louis Catignani  
1949-50 James Stone  
1950-51 L.E. Oakley  
1951-52 Dick Hays   
1952-53 Jim Odum  
1953-54 Jerry Robertson  
1954-55 Donnie Holmes  
1955-56 Al Tate Rogers   
1956-57 Joe Neal Grisham  
1957-58 Tom Morgan  
1958-59 Bob Monnet  
1959-60 Howard Gorrell  
1960-61 Jim Stewart  
1961-62 Bud Coley  
1962-63 Jackie Winders  
1963-64 Doug Stamper  
1964-65 Carlton Flatt  
1965-66 Rodney Rogers  
1966-67 John Ogles  
1967-68 Philip Fairinella and Jimmy Smith  
1968-69 Charlie Moore and Doug Pittenger  
1969-70 Howard Wright  
1970-71 Harold Roberts  
1971-72 Bill Blair  
1972-73 Eddie Childress and Bonnie Sloan  
1973-74 Noel Phillips  
1974-75 Lawrence Weiss  
1975-76 Anthony Carter  
1976-77 Gary Boss  
1977-78 Bob Bible  
1978-79 Pat Fogarty  
1979-80 Glenn Colivas and Chris Vinyard  
1980-81 Brett Williams  
1981-82 Joanne Arnold  
1982-83 Stacey Higgins  
1983-84 Lenny Manning  
1984-85 Sandy Cross  
1985-86 T.J. Kleynhans  
1986-87 Darryl B. Bedford  
1987-88 Craig Rudolph  
1988-89 Jane Goodson  
1989-90 Chris Polk  
1990-91 Shannon Peters  
1991-92 Randy McDermott  
1992-93 Isabel Canedo  
1993-94 Kevin Smith  
1994-95 Georgie Vaughn  
1995-96 Carrie Thompson  
Season Men's Recipient  Women's Recipient 
1996-97  Charles "Bubba" Wells Andrea Miller 
1997-98 Joe Sibbitt Amanda Behrenbrinker 
1998-99 Scott Niewland Julie Virta
1999-00 Robert Powell Kim Smith
2000-01 Trenton Hassell Ayesha Maycock 
2001-02 Dustin Wilson Sheena Gooding 
2002-03 A.J. Ellis  Brooke Armistead 
2003-04 Rhet Wierzba  Jennifer Adcock 
2004-05 Ryan Taylor  Cassandra Peek 
2005-06 Zac Schlader  Ashley Haynes 
2006-07 Shawn Kelley Adonia Bivens 
2007-08 Grant Leaver Virginia Penner 


LoginLive Event ScheduleLaunch PlayerMore InfoJoin Now
Advanced Online Store Ad
    Media works
    R.J. Young Logo